Don’t Fool Yourself

Forget Her
Jeff Buckley

While this time is busy sleeping,
All the noise has died away
I walk the streets to stop my weeping
Cause she’ll never change her ways

Don’t fool yourself, she was heartache from the moment that you met her
Oh my heart feels so still as I try to find the will to forget her, somehow
I think I’ve forgotten her now

Her love is a rose, pale and dying
Dropping her petals in land unknown
All full of wine the world before her
Was sober with no place to go

Don’t fool yourself, she was heartache from the moment that you met her
My heart is frozen still as I try to find the will to forget her, somehow
She’s somewhere out there now

[Guitar Solo]

Oh my tears are falling down as I try to forget,
Her love was a joke from the day that we met
All of the words, all of her men,
All of my pain when I think back to when.

Remember her hair as it shone in the sun,
The smell of the bed when I knew what she’d done
Tell myself over and over
You won’t ever need her again

But don’t fool yourself
She was heartache from the moment that you met her
My heart is frozen still as I try to find the will to forget her, somehow
She’s out there somewhere now.

Oh she was heartache from the day that I first met her
My heart is frozen still as I try to find the will to forget you, somehow
Cause I know you’re somewhere out there right now


Wrote an entry about this two days ago but the internet was acting up so I wasn’t able to post it.  It was a pretty sober reflection, nothing emotional or too dramatic.  Mostly, it was about how my period is ending and I feel like my hormones are normalizing once again, therefore my feelings are plateau-ing as well.

Nevertheless, this song is so strong and heavily laden with a background that communicates itself through the lyrics, the melody, and the emotional voice that produced this music.  It’s a shame that magnificent art such as this came from someone who is no longer with us physically, Jeff Buckley.  He is a grand man, so simple, and yet imbued with a labyrinthine soul and spirit.  I so wish I could have met him…

“Don’t fool yourself, he was heartache from the moment that you met him.”

It’s so ironic how we always end up chasing after something we know is bad for us.  But I guess the attraction can’t be ignored if it’s a feeling, a person, an idea that you can’t get your mind off.

My friends keep on telling me the men I date are not worth it.  A really good friend of mine, for one, has not approved of anyone yet.  Whenever I’d tell him about some new guy I met, he’d always complain, “Where do you meet these guys anyway?”

Sure, they’re well off.  They can afford to spoil me and to bring me to the most wonderful places.  Yet, they themselves are directionless.  They themselves don’t know what they want.  And, if what my friend tells me is true of most “Annas,” I should veer as far away from them as possible.  Cause you see, Annas (apparently) “don’t know what they want.”  And the heck, I very much agree with this.  Sigh, thank you for your insights.  Now let me brood on them.

Anyway, I’ve decided that I don’t want to “fool myself” anymore.  No more.

From now on, I deliberately market myself as single.  I am not dating anyone.  I have stopped dating these guys – or communicating with them – about a week ago, and I find that I don’t miss them very much anyway.  It’s a good thing too because it just means that … well … I could live without them.  I can be single and be proud of it.  I can stop fooling myself now.  No more dating blind men.  It’s high time to stop searching for heartache.

About this entry